Frankenstein

I recently finished reading Frankenstein by Mary Shelley and it was better than I expected it to be. Since it was a school assigned book I thought it would be boring and each chapter the struggle to read it would become greater and greater. But I was wrong. Sure some parts of it were a little dry and lengthy, and I got kind of sick of Victor Frankenstein complaining about his life, but overall the book was pretty good.

Throughout the book we follow Victor Frankenstein (who is not the monster, just a little heads up for anyone who didn’t know) and see how his life collapses after he creates the monster. Frankenstein goes a little crazy after creating the monster; he thinks it is an absolute abomination and regrets making it once he gives it life.

frank

One thing I found interesting about the story is how easily Mary Shelley is able to write in different voices. She writes from the point of view of Frankenstein, the monster, and Walton (If you read the book you’ll understand who he is, I don’t want to give too much away.) in all different ways. A lot of my friends who were also reading the book liked the monster’s point of view a lot more than the other two. I suspect this is because Frankenstein’s mind is mostly gloomy and depressing, and Walton doesn’t have much of an insider’s point of view. Another thing I noticed about the book was how when the monster is first created Frankenstein calls it a wretch but by the end of the book Frankenstein calls himself a wretch. This shows how he goes from blaming the monster for being created to blaming himself for creating it. Which also shows how Frankenstein grows as a character, even if it takes awhile in the book.

I found myself getting really frustrated while reading the novel at how selfish Victor Frankenstein is. He feels sorry for himself but does nothing about what is happening. I’m being vague so I don’t ruin the book for those who haven’t read, but for those who have you will know what I am talking about.

So overall it was a good novel; some passages were a little long but the plot really picks up in the middle. Let me know if you’ve ever read the book and what your thoughts were about it. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

